Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Softening my stance on the Mole premiere...

Now that I've downloaded the first episode of Mole, I've completely altered my view of the rebirth of the single greatest reality TV show ever. Watching the episode the first time, with the picture going in and out, and the audio being a few seconds off really can make a good program appear sour...

Though it's impossible to top the original Mole, and part of that is nostalgia on my part, this one has done a pretty good job. Let's hope the viewers think so in the coming weeks, however, or else ABC might pull the plug. Early reports have the Mole getting very few viewers. Certainly a factor could be the unfamiliar host. Make no mistake about it, Jon Kelley is no Anderson Cooper, but he was actually quite good. The first time I watched it I couldn't get past the fact he wasn't Coop, but he was solid, if unspectacular. Kelley's challenge in the coming weeks is to bring the comedy to the forefront...

If there's any criticism of the first episode, albeit a small one is that the two challenges weren't particularly of any interest. Partially due to the fact they've done the moneybags raft one before and also because the scavenger hunt didn't have a wow factor to it...

I believe the Mole is either Alex or Clay, and have just a couple of other suspects. I doubt I'll change my stance on the first two guys, and they'll likely be the ones I look to pick as my final selection in an episode or two...

In the coming posts, I'll break down everyone in the game, what they have brought to the game thus far, and what, if any, suspicious moves they've done so far...

Can you figure it out? Who is the Mole?

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

First impressions of the revamped Mole...

First off, it was the greatest television event of our generation tonight, as the Mole is back on TV. There are no words to describe just how exceptional and phenomenal and scintillating and spectacular and invigorating it is to have it back, so I will not even try to detail just how amazing it is to see it again. Having said that, watching the premiere made me feel nostalgic in wanting the "old" Mole back...

It could have been the fact that the feed I was watching the program on kept cutting in and out every few moments, so I missed bits and pieces of the show. Or it could be that the show seems a whole lot lamer. What was the opening intro, and why was it so crappy? To rate the crapiness on the crapometer (1 being the least crappy, 10 being the Mole's introduction), I'll give the intro a resounding score of 11. Are we supposed to be drawn in to the show? Can these contestants look any more awkward in their opening bios? Can we please have Anderson Cooper back?

That's the main issue, no Coop. No one can be Mr. Coop, absolutely no one. Ahmad Rashad attempted, and succeeded partially. Jon Kelley is trying, or is he? Kelley was billed as a man from the Anderson Cooper School of hilarity, but he flopped. And crashed. And burned. It's only one episode, and he must pick up his game from here, but we need more out of you Jon. We need comedy, suspense, intrigue, goofiness and professionalism all rolled into one. Or we need some more AC in here...

Lastly, where did the great soundtrack go? What set the Mole apart from other reality TV shows was the great instrumental music building suspense, drama, and action. The music so far has barely been noticeable, let alone entertaining....

Going back to the crapometer, the first episode of new revamped Mole scored a paltry 3 in my books. What did you all think? Am I being too harsh? The show has got to get better from here, and it still has great potential, but what exactly went wrong?

We'll delve into each and every contestant and their suspicious acts coming straight up. I've narrowed down my list to two people. I'm almost certain I know who the Mole is already, and it might've been given away by a hidden clue I've unearthed...

Who is the Mole?

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Monday, June 2, 2008

The Mole returns tonight after a long hiatus!!!

This will be a TV event of a lifetime! The long overdue wait is finally over, as the greatest reality show will be back on our tubes tonight! The Mole boasts as the best one simply because of the element of suspicion, deceit, intelligence, and mystery all rolled into one. This show should never have left television, but the fact that it's back is the greatest thing ever...

We will break down all the contestants after episode one, and for the subsequent shows as well. Every detail will be broken down to see if we can't be the ultimate sleuth to figure this thing out. I have a lot riding on this, as my reputation is at stake. Of the four seasons of the American version (2 civilian, 2 celebrity), and 2 seasons of the Australian Mole I've seen, the person I've selected by episode 2 has in fact been the Mole three times, and in the other three cases, the individual I thought was the Mole was the winner of the game. That's a pretty good track record, one that could be smashed into pieces this season if I'm wrong...

Sit back and enjoy the true wonder that is the Mole, and see if you can prove me wrong...

Who is the Mole?

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Friday, May 30, 2008

Parvati takes home the loot, awkward reunion show ensues...

We find out in the reunion show that Parvati had won the vote 5-3. But what if there were a tie, does anyone know how the show would handle it then? At first thought, maybe they’d take the non jury members aside and they’d vote. While that could have happened (since they read the votes before going back to America), it still isn’t all that feasible. I think everyone wanted to see a tie (the last couple of years in the three person final, it could have also resulted in a 3-3-3 tie, but didn’t) Survivor is dying for there to be a tie, but we won’t know for at least another season…

The other interesting moment from the finale was Probst’s obvious disdain for Johnny Fairplay. He didn’t even want to talk about how he played the game at all, instead moving on and telling him sarcastically that it’s nice he brought a kid into the world (Fairplay is banned from Survivor after parties for picking a fight with Probst’s brother once.) Amanda proclaimed that she and Ozzy was still an item, but he jokingly denied it, almost to the point of perhaps being a jerk about it. Conceivably, he might not be all that into Amanda, and is trying to let her down gently, that’s how it came across. Lastly, Jeffrey Probst informed us that there was a 2nd couple that we didn’t know about! Was it Alexis and Erik? Chet and Joel? No, it was the 2nd women voted off (who is she?), and Ryan (who is he?) from Pearl Islands. That was most definitely the weakest surprise ever. Apparently, Ryan asked her to marry him in 4 days, wooooohoooo…

After starting off slowly, this turned out to be the best Survivor ever! It just takes two scoops of ice cream…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

4 women, but there can only be 1 winner of Survivor...

A Survivor finale with 4 women who think they are the most brilliant strategists in the shows history is enough to make me vomit. One second, hold up……Ok, I’m back, that was gross. Jason and Erik were the biggest tools, and “fans” of the show ever. These ladies are to be commended with how they suckered them, along with Ozzy, without question. But they can’t possibly be as genius as they think they are, honestly. None of this would have happened if two dudes had any semblance of brains. While it was humourous to watch, saying they were the greatest players even in this season (with the exception of Cirie, who was the best player), would be to overrate them far too much…

Simply put, Cirie should have won this season. She was the dominant force behind any move in the game. She was particularly impressive because in episode 1, she was on the outside looking in on two alliances. The show reverted back to a final 2, instead of a final 3, and as always the case is, the best player finishes in 3rd place in this format. Amanda had a phenomenal chance to win again for the second straight season. In the final seat again, she choked away her chances by failing to answer questions, putting on the waterworks hoping to gain sympathy, and being clouded by her boyfriend Ozzy’s WEAK profession of love. Amanda lost to Parvati, who played a pretty good game, no doubt. It’s just disappointing she didn’t bring any actual entertainment to the show really, but she is to be commended, mostly because she found a way to answer the jury’s questions…

If you can respond to the Natalie’s nut job question and still win, it’s impressive. Check this one out “Parvati, you flirt with guys and girls in this game for your benefit” (ok, that’s a statement, nothing too psychotic yet…) “…so I want to know, how does your flirtatious nature relate to how you are in the bedroom” WHAT….THE….FUDGE…

Oh my word, what kind of question is that? I almost pulled that question off to sound normal, since it’s paraphrased, but Natalie’s was far more jumbled. James even called her out for being so damn confusing. This woman seriously needs to stop being on television right now…

The Survivor reunion discussion, coming up...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Erik makes the DUMBEST MOVE IN SURVIVOR HISTORY

After Jason left, the following episode was largely uneventful until Amanda played the hidden immunity idol, blind siding the rest of the cast. Sadly, the most gorgeous girl in Survivor history, Alexis, had the second most votes so she left. This paved the way for an all woman final 5, with the exception of Erik. To this point, everyone’s favourite ice cream scooper has been charming, hilarious, and strategic. Something tells me that after the shenanigans from this episode, those will never be words to describe Erik for as long as he lives…

DUMBEST MOVE IN SURVIVOR HISTORY How can Erik not hold the title for this wonderful achievement? He won the freaking immunity idol. Erik was all set for the final 4 amongst women turning on each other. He dominated every challenge down the stretch. This was a guaranteed victory for all ice cream scoopers in the world! However, the past can always reflect what will happen in the future. Rewind to the reward challenge weeks back, courtesy Erik “These are the most boooooobs I’ve seen in my liiiiiiiiife” It would appear they’d cloud Erik’s judgment once again. My only question is was it Cirie’s that did the trick?

For the first time since Probst has asked the immunity holder if they want to give it up, someone is dumb enough to do it! Erik, why must you be such a dweeb? You’ve been duped! All these women convinced the poor guy that the jury hated him. There was no possible way he’d win unless he showed an act of contrition. What better way to get in the jury’s good books? Uh, how about not get in their books as the stupidest player ever! Erik didn’t understand that everyone loved him. He had it in the bag, with no blood on his hands.

After he gave it up to Natalie, all these wonderfully crafty women voted his rump off the island. James no longer has the title of DUMBEST MOVE IN SURVIVOR HISTORY after Erik claimed the throne…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Jason, dumbest Survivor ever? It would seem that way...

Now that Jason has been saved from oblivion, it’d be safe to assume that he’ll pull off all the stops and play a strategic and cunning game. At least that’s the assumption. Kind of difficult to assume that though when you are dealing with the likes of Jason, who looks like he’s high as a kite 24/7. Plus, when there’s a borderline insane opponent out to get you, it might make you nuts as well…

Meet the quirky and loopy one, Natalie. It’s safe to assume (or is it?) that no one even knows who this girl is. Up until now, Natalie has done absolutely NOTHING but sit on the sidelines. Too bad for Jason, she found the inopportune time to break out of her shell. Or is it her witch’s costume? Natalie repeatedly refers to Jason as her bitch. Do you have to be one to have one? Hard to tell really, I suppose, unless there’s someone named Natalie involved. For the next several minutes, the audience is treated to more acts of insanity, as Nat promises that she’ll go after every male’s jugular, and acts like a cannibal in the process, and clearly enjoys it. Either this show is making her seemingly become a psycho, or, well, uh, she is. There might not be a woman who hates men more than her, seriously. If this seemed bad, it paled in comparison to the bizarre nature she showed at the finale…

Back to the goon Jason. Convinced that Natalie is now working for him (you’re my bitch) he is sent off to Exile Island to find the hidden immunity idol. Like a champ, he recovers it, and he is home free. Just use the idol Jason and you are guaranteed more weeks on the show. Oh jeez, Jason is falling into the human Venus fly trap Natalie. He is suckered into her scheme. There’s absolutely no need to use the hidden idol. Jason is set free, he won’t be going home. That is when Ms. Venus fly trap scams him. Jason is toast, and will forever go down as the dumbest Survivor ever. There is no possible way that anyone else could be screwed over and played as badly by these girls. Jason, meet Erik, your successor in utter shame…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison