Friday, May 30, 2008

Parvati takes home the loot, awkward reunion show ensues...

We find out in the reunion show that Parvati had won the vote 5-3. But what if there were a tie, does anyone know how the show would handle it then? At first thought, maybe they’d take the non jury members aside and they’d vote. While that could have happened (since they read the votes before going back to America), it still isn’t all that feasible. I think everyone wanted to see a tie (the last couple of years in the three person final, it could have also resulted in a 3-3-3 tie, but didn’t) Survivor is dying for there to be a tie, but we won’t know for at least another season…

The other interesting moment from the finale was Probst’s obvious disdain for Johnny Fairplay. He didn’t even want to talk about how he played the game at all, instead moving on and telling him sarcastically that it’s nice he brought a kid into the world (Fairplay is banned from Survivor after parties for picking a fight with Probst’s brother once.) Amanda proclaimed that she and Ozzy was still an item, but he jokingly denied it, almost to the point of perhaps being a jerk about it. Conceivably, he might not be all that into Amanda, and is trying to let her down gently, that’s how it came across. Lastly, Jeffrey Probst informed us that there was a 2nd couple that we didn’t know about! Was it Alexis and Erik? Chet and Joel? No, it was the 2nd women voted off (who is she?), and Ryan (who is he?) from Pearl Islands. That was most definitely the weakest surprise ever. Apparently, Ryan asked her to marry him in 4 days, wooooohoooo…

After starting off slowly, this turned out to be the best Survivor ever! It just takes two scoops of ice cream…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

4 women, but there can only be 1 winner of Survivor...

A Survivor finale with 4 women who think they are the most brilliant strategists in the shows history is enough to make me vomit. One second, hold up……Ok, I’m back, that was gross. Jason and Erik were the biggest tools, and “fans” of the show ever. These ladies are to be commended with how they suckered them, along with Ozzy, without question. But they can’t possibly be as genius as they think they are, honestly. None of this would have happened if two dudes had any semblance of brains. While it was humourous to watch, saying they were the greatest players even in this season (with the exception of Cirie, who was the best player), would be to overrate them far too much…

Simply put, Cirie should have won this season. She was the dominant force behind any move in the game. She was particularly impressive because in episode 1, she was on the outside looking in on two alliances. The show reverted back to a final 2, instead of a final 3, and as always the case is, the best player finishes in 3rd place in this format. Amanda had a phenomenal chance to win again for the second straight season. In the final seat again, she choked away her chances by failing to answer questions, putting on the waterworks hoping to gain sympathy, and being clouded by her boyfriend Ozzy’s WEAK profession of love. Amanda lost to Parvati, who played a pretty good game, no doubt. It’s just disappointing she didn’t bring any actual entertainment to the show really, but she is to be commended, mostly because she found a way to answer the jury’s questions…

If you can respond to the Natalie’s nut job question and still win, it’s impressive. Check this one out “Parvati, you flirt with guys and girls in this game for your benefit” (ok, that’s a statement, nothing too psychotic yet…) “…so I want to know, how does your flirtatious nature relate to how you are in the bedroom” WHAT….THE….FUDGE…

Oh my word, what kind of question is that? I almost pulled that question off to sound normal, since it’s paraphrased, but Natalie’s was far more jumbled. James even called her out for being so damn confusing. This woman seriously needs to stop being on television right now…

The Survivor reunion discussion, coming up...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Erik makes the DUMBEST MOVE IN SURVIVOR HISTORY

After Jason left, the following episode was largely uneventful until Amanda played the hidden immunity idol, blind siding the rest of the cast. Sadly, the most gorgeous girl in Survivor history, Alexis, had the second most votes so she left. This paved the way for an all woman final 5, with the exception of Erik. To this point, everyone’s favourite ice cream scooper has been charming, hilarious, and strategic. Something tells me that after the shenanigans from this episode, those will never be words to describe Erik for as long as he lives…

DUMBEST MOVE IN SURVIVOR HISTORY How can Erik not hold the title for this wonderful achievement? He won the freaking immunity idol. Erik was all set for the final 4 amongst women turning on each other. He dominated every challenge down the stretch. This was a guaranteed victory for all ice cream scoopers in the world! However, the past can always reflect what will happen in the future. Rewind to the reward challenge weeks back, courtesy Erik “These are the most boooooobs I’ve seen in my liiiiiiiiife” It would appear they’d cloud Erik’s judgment once again. My only question is was it Cirie’s that did the trick?

For the first time since Probst has asked the immunity holder if they want to give it up, someone is dumb enough to do it! Erik, why must you be such a dweeb? You’ve been duped! All these women convinced the poor guy that the jury hated him. There was no possible way he’d win unless he showed an act of contrition. What better way to get in the jury’s good books? Uh, how about not get in their books as the stupidest player ever! Erik didn’t understand that everyone loved him. He had it in the bag, with no blood on his hands.

After he gave it up to Natalie, all these wonderfully crafty women voted his rump off the island. James no longer has the title of DUMBEST MOVE IN SURVIVOR HISTORY after Erik claimed the throne…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Jason, dumbest Survivor ever? It would seem that way...

Now that Jason has been saved from oblivion, it’d be safe to assume that he’ll pull off all the stops and play a strategic and cunning game. At least that’s the assumption. Kind of difficult to assume that though when you are dealing with the likes of Jason, who looks like he’s high as a kite 24/7. Plus, when there’s a borderline insane opponent out to get you, it might make you nuts as well…

Meet the quirky and loopy one, Natalie. It’s safe to assume (or is it?) that no one even knows who this girl is. Up until now, Natalie has done absolutely NOTHING but sit on the sidelines. Too bad for Jason, she found the inopportune time to break out of her shell. Or is it her witch’s costume? Natalie repeatedly refers to Jason as her bitch. Do you have to be one to have one? Hard to tell really, I suppose, unless there’s someone named Natalie involved. For the next several minutes, the audience is treated to more acts of insanity, as Nat promises that she’ll go after every male’s jugular, and acts like a cannibal in the process, and clearly enjoys it. Either this show is making her seemingly become a psycho, or, well, uh, she is. There might not be a woman who hates men more than her, seriously. If this seemed bad, it paled in comparison to the bizarre nature she showed at the finale…

Back to the goon Jason. Convinced that Natalie is now working for him (you’re my bitch) he is sent off to Exile Island to find the hidden immunity idol. Like a champ, he recovers it, and he is home free. Just use the idol Jason and you are guaranteed more weeks on the show. Oh jeez, Jason is falling into the human Venus fly trap Natalie. He is suckered into her scheme. There’s absolutely no need to use the hidden idol. Jason is set free, he won’t be going home. That is when Ms. Venus fly trap scams him. Jason is toast, and will forever go down as the dumbest Survivor ever. There is no possible way that anyone else could be screwed over and played as badly by these girls. Jason, meet Erik, your successor in utter shame…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Jason lives to see another day on Survivor...

It seemed for most of the episode of Ozzy’s eventual blind side that it was to be a huge letdown from the previous week’s fake immunity idol fiasco. That is, until Erik (Ice Cream scooper extraordinaire) was on the reward challenge with the locals. This guy is pure comedy. “I have never seen so much boooooooobs in my liiiiife!” The guy is in heaven, he has found his calling in life. From this point forward, Erik would be transfixed by these two specimens befitting a woman that it would lead to his downfall. How else to explain how Erik would take the crown from Jason as the shows biggest loser? (More on that later)

For now, at this point in the game, Jason is our favorite as the clueless Survivor you love to love. During the immunity challenge, he decides after several hours to just give up, only on the promise that he won’t be voted off that night. It’s hard to blame him for this one. Would anyone have expected everyone to act like a bunch of school kids? “Oooooh, he didn’t notice we were crossing our fingers when we lied to him, we are brilliant” The single greatest move in Survivor history is crossing your fingers. It’s such a fantastic strategy that it has never been done until this point ever! Clearly, all these people are “fans” of the shows, and the “favourites” are that because they are so cunning that they feel the need to cross their fingers during a lie. Can anyone compete with these brainiacs?


So Jason is gone. But wait, there’s a plan in place. The hot shot Ozzy thinks he has the whole game in his hands. The girls decide to band together and flush out the real hidden immunity idol he has. Ozzy, done, cya in the jury pal. Way to flip the bird to those suckers too for being such kiddies. Jason lives to see another day. With the way it’s going, he might be finding him in the final 2 chair, how did he pull it off? (Hint: it wasn’t his brains)

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Second half of Survivor the greatest in the shows history!

The last half of the Survivor Fans vs. Favourites season was off the charts amazing. If you, like me, had almost given up (or did give up) on watching the season, you've made a colossal mistake. This season was the greatest for the blind sides, and for the sheer stupidity of so many survivor "fans" of the show. Let's start off with the phenomenal start to a jam packed, intense final 6 episodes…

For this we must rewind to the dumbest player in this season (or so it appeared he would be.) After Ozzy planted a fake immunity idol, Mr. Big Shot Jason is giddy to find what he thinks is the real one. In the words of Eliza, “are you kidding me?” No he’s not Eliza. In fact, he’s going to promise you safety in the night of your eviction from the show. That is, until he shows you the painted piece of monstrosity that he calls the idol. You…are…a…clown… For one second, imagine that Jason’s idiocy was brilliance. Say he had the real immunity idol. Why for one second would he give it up to Eliza? The dude was clearly toast in the game, so it’s unfathomable to give it up to his friend, because then he’d be gone next. Of course, as we later see in the season, Jason is a complete tool is this game, so this is almost merely a footnote to his demise…

Next post we’ll talk about Erik loving boobs, and in an unrelated event, everyone else acting like a bunch of pre-schoolers. Wait that might be given them too much credit…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

Blinded Reality returns from hiatus!

After a brief time off, since Big Brother, Survivor and the Apprentice have been off our tubes for a few weeks, Blinded Reality is back, and it will be better than ever! There is a whole litany of things to discuss and debate. We'll go back and respond to the greatest 2nd half of Survivor history, a solid finish in Big Brother, the best champion in Apprentice's history, and best of all, preview the upcoming MOLE!

That's right; the Mole returns this coming Monday at 10pm on ABC!!!! We'll break down the upcoming contestants, and throughout the entire season, dissect each and every possibly hidden clue and suspicious move by every player!

Getting discussion going is what Blinded Reality is about, and we want you to give us your strong opinions, so don't forget to comment!

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison