Thursday, February 28, 2008

The live eviction episode each week on BB is awful!

Before we delve into the latest episode of Big Brother, some unfinished business must be taken care of; why the live episode of BB is absolutely horrendous. Each week, and every season, it is pitiful. A cynical person (like me), could argue it's because Julie Chen is a part of the show (I'd argue that also.) A lot of the terrible aspects of the live show are because of the waste of space host, but the blame doesn't fall squarely on her broad shoulders...

The live voting is so tedious and boring. It's supposed to be dramatic because it's happening right "now", but it's a snooze fest. Honestly, would anyone be upset if the voting happened a few hours earlier and we had an edited version of the events? Ok, I've made one point about the crappy live show without criticizing Jules Chen. This will cease now. Let's briefly go over the pathetic trash that spews out of her mouth each week...

"This is the last time the nominees have a chance to address the group. Choooooooose your words carefully, because they can make ALLLLLL the difference in the vote"

Stop being ridiculous Chen. Their minds have been made up hours ago.

"You can put your bags down there"

Thanks Julie. After watching this show for 9 seasons I wasn't aware that you didn't want the bag in my lap during the interview. How stupid of me. Better yet, why don't I just give you the bag and tell you to hold onto it? Or maybe I'll simply refuse to put my bag down. What are you going to do about it?

Going back to the live vote, we always see the contestants going into the Diary Room about to make their decision. Julie feels it necessary to give little tidbits into their thought process…

"Ryan didn't like that Amanda couldn't pluck out his nostril hair properly. Will it be enough to set him over the edge? LETSSSS find out!"

Why don't I give the putrid host a break eh? I should have a heart. We should move on to the players…

The contestants are phonies. I have never seen such insufferable television then when I watch the live shows. Every single time they proclaim their love for everyone in the house and how they feel like family. SHUT UP. You hate each other. Don't be a complete baby and suck up. The votes have been decided long before the live show, remember? That's right, you all hate Amanda. Stop fooling yourselves...

Furthermore, the interviews with the nominated house guests loved ones are pathetic. Really! No one cares that James is a "straight up guy", because clearly he isn't. I guarantee no one got anything out of the fact that Chelsia prefers toe fungus to having extreme ear wax. Ok, I made that up...

The Head of Household competitions are so hideous that they don't deserve more then one line in this blog. I'm sorry, they are brutal each time. Oops, that's more then one line...

Apart from that, the show was great! We'll find out why in my next BB post...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

They're all out to get James on BB...

As promised, a few other observations about last night's BB episode...

As much as I think it's unfair Sharon is back in the house, and despite the fact I find her dull and boring, she deserves credit for stirring up the Allison/Sheila argument. She heard there were problems so she outed them. Well done Sharon, well done. You're still horrifically unwatchable, and so much so that I bet the readers are going to the CBS website now to remind themselves of just who Sharon is...

Speaking of that Sheila argument, what is her problem? Shut up already! Actually, better yet, don't shut up. Keep losing your mind and freaking out on everyone. She makes for good viewing, although she hasn't chewed out Adam lately. We need more of the Goober!

That Power of Veto challenge was gold! The games this season have been considerably better for the most part. That one required intelligence and team work. Why the show has to result to crappy true/false, yes/no HOH challenges for the live show is beyond me. It's been proven that the producers have a brain, so make all challenges this inventive! You heard that CBS? The Head of Household challenges are almost always complete garbage...

It's so cliché and overstated in the Diary Room confessionals that these contestants are "out for revenge." Take this week for example. Matty/Bikini Barista and Alex/Amanda have both sworn that if the survive the week they are "out to get James." Total revenge is on their mind. Look out world, you are about to be destroyed by Alex and Amanda! Get a grip dimwits. Stop offering promises like we’ll fight to the finish and won't give up and do everything we can to stay in the game. Stop with the clichés and start giving it 110%, take it day by day, win one for the gipper because there's a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Also, never forget, the grass isn't always greener on the other side...

Alex and Amanda are toast tonight...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Scary situation inside the Big Brother house...

Absolutely chilling. That is how last nights episode of Big Brother could be described. Everything was all fun and games (and arguing), until Allison & Amanda tweaked out. First Ali Berry rolls into the Diary Room has massive swelling in her throat, and immediately afterwards, Amanda blacks out due to a lack of sugar. Whoa, that is nuts! Amanda’s situation was harder to watch because Allison’s situation was off camera. In Amanda’s case, to see her lying on the floor unaware of her surroundings and the medical team whisking her away struck a chord. It was so difficult, I thought, that it teetered on a mistake by CBS. The situation was handled very well, and I know they want to produce “good television”, but it might’ve gone too far. That was a very personal situation, one that was scary. Crazy James came to her side and helped her through it, and as some of the dudes on the show said, big time props for being a man and helping her out…

Wow, this is incredible. We’re past the first paragraph and I haven’t chewed out any of these dumb contestants for being, well, dumb. I’ll tell you what has become annoying; Alex’s attitude toward Amanda. We get it dude, you are stuck with her, and it sucks that you’re targeted for eviction because she is loathed. Deal with it pal. And by the way, you should try sticking to an exact percentage as to how much she’s messed you over. In the past two episodes, he’s told us it’s 75%, 90% or 95-99% Amanda’s fault for being on the block. These two can’t go, not like this. Not while they will surely bring more dramatic energy to the TV screen…

I have resorted back to being charitable it would seem, because I’m going to praise James. I called that doughnut out earlier in the game for not living up to the billing “Crazy James”, but we’re finally seeing his style. Good on you mate for playing the game and have no apologies about it. If Matty and Alex want to complain about it, keep telling them to screw off. This James guy has serious potential, along with partner Chelsia, to wreak havoc in this house…

More to come regarding the Power of Veto episode of this week’s Big Brother…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Sunday, February 24, 2008

Phony lesbians out themselves on Big Brother...

Finally the Allison/Sheila fake “lesbian” twist has come out of the closet. It was about time. Why those two doorknobs decided to lie about their sexuality in a game of mistrust is completely beyond comprehension. Sorry Ryan or Adam, your partners have just screwed you over big style. How was this even funny? After two seconds, it should have been over. Instead, Sheila comes across as, in James’ words “…A giant bitch!” and Allison comes across as a stinky fraud. Good job clowns, well played indeed…

Speaking of James’ line (which, by the way, was probably the best this season), he has finally delivered. He was funny, and eerily reminiscent to the greatest player in reality TV history, Big Brother’s Dr. Will Kirby. Did you not see it in his diary room confessionals? The way he talked, how he hammed it up for the camera, and then the tactics he used to form his nominations. The guy was stunningly similar to Will. The best part of his screen time was when he tried to get partner Chelsia to make out with him. How pathetic and sad that was? He got his wish though, so high five to Crazy Jamie. Chelsia claims she is taking it “day by day” with James. If sticking your tongue down his throat constitutes day by day…

The other phenomenal contestant is Amanda. If she survives a few more weeks, she might go down as top 5 greatest/worst females in the shows history. So you get picked to be on the “devoted team” because you are a “DEEEEEVOTED PERRRRRSON.” Right, ok…keep thinking that Amanda. If she is gone it’ll be a shame, there’ll be less to write about on this space. Is it possible to get excited about watching someone like bland Sharon for the duration of the show?? Zzzzzzz…

Finally, the most annoying part of every season of Big Brother is the hideously phony celebration by everyone as they see the new HOH room. We get it; you won HOH Crazy Jamie & Chelsia. Why does everyone have to scream about it and kiss your posteriors? Everyone should refuse to check out the HOH room. Or at least shut the heck up. Stop yelling. Seriously…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Cirie in control of Survivor

I can’t stand Cirie. She is hideously annoying. Cirie shouldn’t even be on the show. Remember in Panama when she couldn’t make fire at Tribal Council? That was a joke. For that reason alone, she shouldn’t have been invited back…

Fast forward to this season, and she is the power player in the “Favourites” tribe. How this happened is beyond me. She masterminded the ouster of yet another true All-Star, Yau-Man. In the process, she managed to cheese off the only great player remaining, Jonathan by refusing to go along with his master plan to take out Parvati…

Cirie’s pompous smirk after the vote went her way was revolting. This woman is repulsive. She is an awful player, and has lucked into power. Now, she thinks she’s the queen bee. This is absolutely sickening. It’s the reason why having All-Stars on these shows don’t work. Johnny Fairplay & Yau-Man have been voted off. Terrible “favourites” selections like Cirie, Eliza and Amy are still in the game…

It’s obvious how they are portraying Cirie too. She is being billed as a hero to all middle aged housewives for standing up to Jonathan and going against him. “You goooooo girl! Men aren’t in control of us!!! Girl Power!!!”

As much as she is horrible to watch, I have to give her credit on one score. She is at least doing something by contributing to drama on the show. That is more then could be said about bums like Eliza, Amy, Parvati, Amanda and Ozzy from the favourites tribe…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Saturday, February 23, 2008

Joshuah loses his mind, things get too racy on BB...

It has been a few days since my last entry. I had to watch the eviction episode of Big Brother a day later, as well as the Survivor & Apprentice episodes this week. Since BB was on Wednesday, we’ll discuss how Joshuah flipped his lid, Chelsia going off on Amanda, and Jen making things a little too racy

Usually when Julie Chen offers up useless tidbits of what’s in store for the show, it always falls flat. This time, her proclamation lived up to the billing! “…The biggest argument in Big Brother history…” WOW she was right. Chelsia started it off by lambasting Amanda over gossiping constantly. It was actually quite surprising to me that it didn’t happen before. Then, out of freaking no where (as Joshuah would say, “I didn’t expect that in a million years!”), Joshuah went absolutely ape on Amanda! What was his problem? I can’t expect she personally attacked him that bad before. Instead, Joshuah had the biggest whiny flip out in the shows history…

Calling Amanda “horse faced” was horrible enough, but then when he made reference to using a noose like her father did (who committed suicide), was FAR beyond any recognition. Some houseguests said that was “below the belt.” Uh, that’s putting it way too mildly you donkeys. Joshuah’s tantrum was completely and utterly unacceptable, and he’ll be ashamed for a long long time. You are a complete joke. There are no words to apologize for such hatred. I don’t care how much you hate someone; you never, ever, go that personal with it. Now Amanda, was everyone had hated, comes out looking rosy because everyone feels bad for her. I always thought if I were on this show I’d lay back and watch all the arguments go on and laugh about them. In this instance, a severe tongue lashing would ensue. It’s preposterous and vile that no one else did. They are all babies for not complete ripping him to shreds over his comments. And to think, all this because Chelsia was cheesed off at Amanda for spreading gossip…

The other aspect of the show that is insane was Jen trying to politic to get her boyfriend kicked out of the house. She flat out called him a racist. She denied it, merely suggesting he didn’t like that she dated a black man, but she got caught. You’re screwed Jen. Your huge mouth will get you in deep trouble this time. Now it’s not just a game. Before you messed over you and your partner Parker’s game, but now I can’t see how Ryan could forgive her. Who stoops to that level? He seems like a nice dude. Jen & Parker were probably long gone before that, but that was the icing on the cake. Once everyone found out that Jen called him a racist, Ryan was safe from eviction. To even suggest such a thing is hideous…

It’s sad, however, that Jen & Parker are gone. Despite the fact she was an obnoxious brat, her and Parker were way more interesting then Ryan & Allison. It’s a shame, because the show won’t be as good without Jen & Parker…

The HOH winners were Crazy James and Chelsia. They both seem poised to dominate this game. They’ll surely put up Booty call man and the Bikini Barista, along with Alex & Amanda. Crazy James needs to start being crazy though. You can’t bill yourself with that name and be as subtle as he’s been so far. Start doing something you clown…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Tuesday, February 19, 2008

How much dumber can these BB contestants get?

I’m completely sold on the couples twist on Big Brother. Every other twist that BB has done has been a colossal bust. I guess getting it correct 1 out of 5 times constitutes success. After such a strong episode Sunday, there was no let down on Veto night…

Why are houseguests angry at twists? People know each other in the house. Freaking get over it! This is a complete joke. James mentions to Alex to start thinking about other so called “couples” that know each other, and that sets everybody off. Amanda lashes out at her partner Alex for even suggesting she might know Parker. Quit being a baby. Isn’t it a natural assumption that everyone knows someone? It’s happened before numbskulls. Amanda is so high and mighty about the whole thing. She even has the audacity to blow a gasket because Alex doesn’t believe her swearing on the bible. Thank you Alex for telling her it means jack all that she swore on it. Grow up Amanda. Your boy Alex thinks you might know Parker. Big deal. Doesn’t mean you have to whine and moan about it. This is absolutely disgusting.

A lot of the conspiracy theories have been because Sheila and her “lesbian relationship” with Allison. This is the most asinine fake twist I have ever seen in my lifetime. “Ooooh, look at me, I’m Sheila. I like bosoms. I’m going to let two people in the house know and it’s going to be soooo hilarious. But then we can’t tell anyone else.” Huh? What’s the point of making up a lie if you aren’t going to do anything with it? Leave it to Sheila to ruin the fun. This has to be the single most idiotic ploy of the season thus far. Honestly, it just makes me sick. I want to know what’s going inside Sheila’s melon…

I speak for everyone when I say thank god that one of the real life couple is going home. Not because Jen has got to SHUT UP (never worse then her attitude at the veto challenge), or because it’s an unfair advantage in the game to know someone. The reason is much simpler. We will not be forced to watch Jen & Ryan go into the bathroom for 30 seconds while they “do it.” I beg you, please don’t go out of this house with a bang…

A few other brief observations; why did Matt promise Parker he’d take him off the block if he won the veto? What do you gain from that? Included in Matt’s alliance are Alex and Amanda. This Alex guy is cool. He tears a strip off Amanda for wearing the hideous short shorts and flaunting herself to any available suitor. Notice she didn’t fight back, because she knows the truth…

I’m terrified to report this next bit of news. After the nominations were left intact, Jen promised that there would no longer be “nice Jen” in the house. OH MY! This was her being nice? Yikes…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Why Big Brother has been so good...

Simply put, this past episode of Big Brother was one of the greatest episodes in the shows history. Yes, you could look at all the cattiness going on (Allison/Jen, Adam/Sheila) and think that was why it was phenomenal, but that’d be missing the mark. Big Brother is best when it doesn’t resort to cheesy and gimmicky challenges that force the contestants to virtually get naked and clown around. It’s even better when the show does not rely on having to show romantic overtures and innuendo for the entire 60 minutes. Think about it, there was nothing in the show that is so incredibly stupid and ridiculous that got your eyes rolling…

A lot of the drama centered on the real “couple” Jen & Ryan. Figuring that Ryan’s partner Allison was about to spill the beans on their secret, they let the cat out of the bag and quickly everyone knew. People got upset that they weren’t told earlier. This is beyond comprehension. Nearly everyone was pissy because their “friends” didn’t reveal their sordid conspiracy. They were scarred to learn that the donkeys they’d met just TWO days earlier had not told them the twist. What were they expecting? Would anyone else have not done the same thing? In fact, most all of them would have kept the secret longer.

Have these goons not watched the show before? Joshuah was the biggest twerp. Twice he muttered that he wouldn’t have thought of there being another real life couple in the house. WAKE UP! Every season the show has some twisted twist to it. How could you not have even suspected people knew one another in a million years? Then, when Sheila & Allison their phony “lesbian relationship” to Joshuah, he was so startled that, you guessed it, he wouldn’t have thought about it “in a million years.” Get your head in the game bud. And by the way, running to your partner Neil with this information surely will show you can’t be trusted at all…

The other extremely entertaining aspect of the show Sunday was everyone swearing on the bible. I still can’t believe we all witnessed that. It’s still puzzling why that would get to the truth anyhow. It’s questionable when people who aren’t religious feel the need to use the bible to prove they are serious. Here’s a thought; when the bible is being passed around, refuse to swear on it. That would really freak out the house. They wouldn’t know who to believe, and there would be constant skepticism. It has to be balanced carefully however, so as not to cast too much light on oneself.

Finally, the show really needs to consider switching up the partners at least 3 times this season. Think about the monstrosity that would create. People you confided all your thoughts in now being your nemesis. Players you were gunning for are force to be your closest ally. And, on a more shallow level (and one the show would surely think of), there would be more opportunities for romance to bloom. The house would be flipped upside down…

It’s come crystal clear now. The reason the show was so fantastic was because Julie Chen did not grace our TV sets once…
For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Monday, February 18, 2008

Back in action...

After a prolonged absence I am back from vacation. Although I'm sure most of you didn't notice I was missing in the first place because... well... this is a relatively brand new blog and my colleague has admirably been filling everyone in on anything and everything is that reality television since my departure. Anyways... enough about me.

To start with I'd like to thank Allison for saving this season of big brother... and she managed to do it in the first week of the show which is almost unheard of. Don't get me wrong... I do not think Allison is a threat to win the game. She seems to be a little too emotional (perhaps emotionally unstable is a better description) in order to make any serious run at the grand prize.

But it's her jealousy that is going to give this season's pair twists a fighting chance. When I first heard that this season was going to be about a pairs theme I was intrigued. When I found out four people in the house already had connections with each other, though, I had nightmarish flashback to season four's "The Ex's" which to date is the most disappointing big brother season in my opinion.

Why BB producers always feel the need to put people on the show that know each other is beyond me. It gives those individuals an unfair advantage over the rest of the competition and easily sets up an opportunity for them to use it to their advantage and make it all the way to the end (see: Dick and Danielle from last season).

I viewed this season no differently after finding out that Jen and Ryan have been dating for almost a year. When they were partnered with Parker and Allison respectively, they were essentially handed a powerful four-person alliance that if used properly easily would have controlled the balance of power for the foreseeable future.

Well you can forget about that now. Allison seemed to develop feelings for Ryan right from the start but once she found out that he was off-limits jealousy fueled emotions ensued. Even though she wasn't the one who broke the news to the rest of the house, make no mistake about it, if she hadn't been so opposed to working with Jen from the onset the twist never would have been revealed this early in the game. Jealously and paranoia are a lethal cocktail and in this case it will most likely cost one of the lovebirds their chance at half a million dollars.

Kudos to Alex and Amanda (or as I like to call her, Janelle Jr.) for realizing the immediate danger of a real-life couple in the house and acting on it immediately. It's always tough to get a read on teams in the first week of the show, but I envision these two sticking around and being a real threat for this season's crown.... That is until they are seperated (they can't keep everyone as pairs all season long can they?)

Sunday, February 17, 2008

More Big Brother Musings...

After I've gotten the whole Jen business out of my system, it's time to sound off on other crazy contestants, annoying habits, and ridiculous promises made in the BB house...

As the current Head of Household, Amanda seemed to really annoy everybody in the house. The short shorts have to go. Good grief put an end to it. She seemed destined to be hated by America. As the episode progressed however, she came across as very sweet and caring. Her story about her father's suicide was touching, as was her partner Alex revealing his story about his father who died on 9/11. I usually am so perturbed and frustrated with the sob stories that the show trumpets out every year, but this one had meaning. That segment was handled very well. How can you not pull for them in some way?

Ok, I'm getting sick of my own sappiness, so time to rip these contestants some more. There's always an issue every season with people going back on their word. So why did Alex & Matt swear on their father's life that they are going to the end? You KNOW that will likely be impossible to keep, so why even say it? I swear BB casts the biggest meat heads they possibly can each season. What preceded that was far more bizarre. A meeting is called so everyone can swear on the bible that they don't know have a connection with anyone outside of the house. You can't write up a more ridiculous script. This is completely asinine. Truly one of the most puzzling things I've seen in all my years of Reality TV watching...

The Goober Adam and the Ma Sheila must be mentioned. She is a loose cannon! Why does she hate this guy so much? We still haven't seen anything that is just awful directed at her. By the way Sheila, you might take the cake for "most clueless player in the shows history", for constantly complaining about your partner to other teams. It's as if she doesn't want to win. Sheila, you're on the wrong reality show. This isn't The Mole; the object is not to screw your team members over! The word dumb might be thrown around too much, but not in this instance. Sheila's game play is horrific...

Ma must have been scared of Adam because he told everyone he is uncircumcised. How does that conversation come about anyways? So, uh...I have an announcement to make...

Maybe Sheila truly has lost her mind after just one week. She and Allison announce in no uncertain terms to Joshuah that they are a lesbian couple. It was funny for a couple of minutes, but that's it. They don't gain anything from it, other then admiration from the men in the house, because they'll be seen as bigger targets. The book on this has to be closed right away. It was, however, a great way to prove that Joshuah can not be trusted. He scurried off to his partner Neil to tell him the news. If Sheila had half a brain (sorry, it won't happen), or Allison thinks about it (she will), they know never to trust him again...

For Reality Blinded,

Michael Harrison

Scintillating first week in the BB House!

Give me one example of a reality show that has started off better than this season of Big Brother. There hasn't ever been one, end of story. The nomination episode tonight was OFF THE CHAIN, and there is so much to discuss that it can't possibly fit in one posting...

Where to start? How about an entire entry devoted to Jen. Does this girl ever pack some serious heat! She is cursing people out, crying for no apparent reason, or being such an arrogant control freak that she makes for gold TV, however annoying she might be. To begin with, why in Julie Chen's fantastic name would Jen announce to the whole house that her picture is first on memory wall, because she will be the winner? That is simply stupid. There is no way around it, it's pathetic. She is setting herself up for failure instantly. Why does she have to be so moronic? Harsh, maybe...but don't forget her own partner Parker said so in so many words...

As expected, the Jen/Allison tension is freaking phenomenal! You have to give Ali credit, she speaks her mind. All she did, however, was tell the couple that she was finding it hard to keep the secret. Then, of course, Jen freaks out and goes off on her! Of course Jen's beau Ryan is caught in the middle. Ali tears a strip off of Jen by telling Ryan that his girlfriend is a complete bitch! How many people do you know would do that? Oh, never mind...

Could someone tell me why Jen telling everybody about her boyfriend is more acceptable then Allison holding it in? This girl is too much! Jen flips her lid and says that Ali is untrustworthy. Huh? YOU were the one who divulged the secret you whiny waste of space. Really though, what difference would it have been if Ali had told everyone before Jen anyways? If anything, it makes Jen look even worse. What a pitiful player. Jen must stay though. If she leaves this week, the show goes down hill...

Oh, and if it wasn't obvious enough after predicting the incorrect nominees for this week, I am not watching the BB live feeds, nor reading any of the spoilers websites. I will not be doing so for the duration of the season...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

What was Parker thinking on Big Brother?

Seeing as how Big Brother is on again tonight, I felt it best to talk more about these jokes that call themselves players, starting with Parker…

WHAT WERE YOU THINKING? Time and time again, it is incredible to me how these twits think they are so smart. In case you missed the past episode, the now evicted Jacob said to Parker’s partner Jen (Why?) that he’d heard someone call him a “snake.” So Parker the Paparazzo was in a frenzied state to find out the culprit. His solution? To wake up over half the house to find out in the middle of the night! Are you kidding me? He's already ostracized himself from the group. Note to Parker; people don't like getting woken up! His team was the first power couple, are clearly are seen as a threat, and then he pulls a stunt like this. He better hope he's good at the veto challenge because his days could be numbered…

Almost certainly Adam aka Goober & Sheila will be put up this week. Even if it’s just as pawns, they’re an easy target. They must be watched, however, because a couple that slides by might be a dangerous threat week to week, especially if they don’t dream of being soul mates. Their head will be clear, and more focused on the game. That is, of course, if Sheila can muster up any kind of smarts (stop holding your breath, you might pass out.)

The other couple I see being put up is Matt & the bikini barista Natalie. Those two will either wind up being really tight with the current HOH’s Alex & Amber, or bitter rivals. I’d take the latter. Both dudes seem to want to be “the guy”, and the two ladies have already admitted to being high maintenance…

Of course, if Alex & Amber want to be aggressive, it’d be smart to throw up Parker & Jen instead of the goober & Ma as a pawn. Parker isn’t winning many friends, so he should be worried. At this point in the game, I just don’t see any of the other couples in danger of being put at, at least until after the Veto challenge…

I might be eating my words within hours…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Saturday, February 16, 2008

Donald Trump fires no one...

For the first time ever, the Donald found it in his heart to fire nobody this past week. One has to wonder, would he be this kind if it wasn't celebrities competing? Recall when he once fired 4 team members in the same EPISODE once. He clearly caters to their every whim (allowing Baldwin, and now Omarosa to swap teams.) Plus, he no longer calls the contestants "losers", which used to be his boardroom trademark...

I half expected Trump to fire Omarosa, even though her team won this week.It's funny how she said from the get go that she was going to reform her strategy and play a smarter game. Funny how that lasted for all of 5 seconds. This past week was the pinnacle. As much as she despises Piers, why are you trying to screw your team over? There is no excuse for that. Sure, her low blows aimed at Piers' children were bad enough, but attempted sabotage is her stupidest move...

In a completely unrelated note, how good was Tito Ortiz and partner Jenna Jameson's horse ride? "Honey, where are we?"

uh.....Central Park....

Trace Adkins is a good story. Soft spoken man, hard worker, and perhaps surprisingly intelligent. He won't win, but he surely has developed into one of the better ones this season...

Lennox and Tito are the biggest candidates to get fired once Trump smartens up and cans some of these celebs again...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Friday, February 15, 2008

Piers & Omarosa make Apprentice Amazing

I nearly didn't watch the Apprentice this season. Figured there'd be washed up celebrities a little too cheerful sucking up to Donald Trump. I'm glad I reconsidered...

After Gene Simmons left, the show was supposed to suffer. Thanks to Piers and Omarosa, it’s gotten that much better. Why does the Donald have to give in to the whim of these celebs by putting them on a new team if they don't get along? We need more of the Piers/Omarosa hatred. Make no mistake; this isn't just a simple rivalry. They hate each other. They also are likely to be playing for the camera a bit as well. Either way, Donald has to get tougher, and put Omarosa AND Baldwin on Piers team. That'd be the greatest reality TV version of the New York Knicks.

Piers still won't win though. Isn't it completely obvious Carole Alt has it won? Trump is transfixed with her beauty, she is incredibly intelligent, and gets along with everybody. It's so obvious guys like Lennox & Tito won't win. Surprisingly, they don't even bring a whole lot to the table. The week Vinny lost his mind Tito was at a fight, and Lennox's claim to fame is ordering his team to raise their hands...

Episode recap of the week Trump fired no one upcoming...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Should I be more excited about this Survivor?

As expected, Survivor was a complete let down the moment Johnny Fairplay left. Something just didn't feel right. The main star is gone. Way to go Johnny, good job at screwing us out of our entertainment...

What kind of fans of Survivor are these? Nearly every single one of the "fans" is awful players. Jason informed the old people alliance that they can't sleep in his shelter. What a fool. Then there's the insufferable Mikey B. (Though he's at least a source of entertainment.) Voting for Chet and saying no one can be on his "team" if they perform as badly as Chet did? Who are you? And then there's the jungle master Joel. The firefighter needs power so he can beat his chest. He gets his wish, Mary is gone. One problem, Joel didn't even vote for her! Did he think he hadn't done a good enough job of convincing the tribe? Or hide behind the fact he was the grand master?

Then there are the folks on the other team that call themselves "Favourites" I'm still trying to figure that one out. We get it Cirie. You are a couch potato. Stop whining. You have a shot at finding the hidden immunity idol. I really feel bad for you having to swim and walk to find it. Do us a favour and voluntarily quit the show. And by the way, why were crazy lady and Cirie able to find the clues so easily? That's a complete joke...

Cirie can win major brownie points if she votes off Parvati or Amanda. They are a disgrace to the show. You'd think players would have a brain a second go round. But no, they just want to make out. Parvati really seems to have smartened up and changed her strategy this season. That's right; she won't just be flirting this year. Oh wait, never mind...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Thursday, February 14, 2008

Big Brother begins with a bang!

BB is never this good, this fast. There's usually two weeks of mindless "getting to know you" chatter that is both sickening and phony. Not this year. Big Brother has already produced Adam & Sheila. We'll aptly name them "Goober" & Ma...

Continue the hate Ma. Maintain your wretched disdain for this ghastly creature. We want more of it! How can a human being (45 years of age no less) despise someone so quickly? Easy. Cast a crazy & pretentious Ma. Check. Tell her she will find her soul mate in a 29 year old politically incorrect Goober. Check. Make sure she is a horribly judgmental, shallow woman? Done. Ah, but will she be recklessly emotional and oddly neurotic? You bet. We have a winner! It's you Sheila!

No one cares about twits like Neil, Chelsia, and Jen (Who?) BB needs to do the right thing and just show Ma & Goober. Avoid everyone else. Complete ignore them. They're about as exciting as Big Brother 'After Dark.' Who REALLY cares that Chelsia doesn't think her partner James is her soul mate because he rides bicycles instead of motorcycles? No one. That's 5 seconds of my life I won't get back....

The "ex" boyfriend & girlfriend had to sling their hook already. There is a god. After watching this show every season you have to wonder if these idiots have ever watched the show. How dumb are you Jacob?" Way to go. Thanks to being a stupid clown you just screwed over your ex, not once, but twice. Smooth move telling Parker's partner Jen (Who?) that you think Parker is a snake. You were a colossal failure at this game....

Ryan has potential to make this game gold. The big teddy bear has his whiny girlfriend Jen (Who?) all upset that he flirts with Allison. In turn, Allison hates Jen because she wants to get in on the Ryan piece of the pie. The solution is simple Teddy Bear. Start hitting on Ma. Right now.

We should wrap this up before I start vomiting after seeing America's Player & Jessica from BB8 host the HOH challenge this week...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Tuesday, February 12, 2008

Big Brother is back!!!

Big Brothers opening episode was a rousing success, save for the cheesy introductions to all the contestants. There were a few not so good aspects of it as well, and "a couple" that could make this game freaking phenomenal!

Let's begin with the bad. How contrived and ridiculous is the "till death do you part" theme? That's already gotten old. Somebody at CBS deserves a massive raise for thinking that one up, especially because it's just in time for Valentine's Day. Sheer brilliance! Most of all though, there was only one major flaw, which, as discussed in a previous posting, has reared its ugly head once again...

It simply is not fair to have a real life couple in the house playing with other partners, and an additional pair that used to be a real life couple now forced to work together as a "team". Either have this for everyone or no one at all. Why should the former couple be the only ones screwed over like this? It's happened in the EX-Factor season, and last season, the "rivals" monstrosity. Plus, how hard is it to be dating someone else in the house, but you aren't teamed up with them? Both of these twists will make great TV, but it's just simply not fair...

Easy candidate for the best pairing, the bikini barista & the hyper charged, sex obsessed dude she's with. In the latest blog entry, it was easy to rip on them as the best/worst two, and sure enough, they will make for the best personalities, however jaded they might be...

There's no question the pair that are toast first. "Ma" and the goober she's with. It's easy to understand that it might stink that everyone else has their "soul mate", and the person you are teamed is a dweeb you aren't attracted to, but do you have to complain about it so much? Ma, it's pathetic. Can someone please tell her it's not REALLY about match maker, and that's it's a game for 500 grand!

Lastly, here's an idea that CBS should have come up with. (And big props if they already have.) Instead of pairing people based on similar compatibility, they should team up everyone with the worst compatibility. This would surely send sparks flying! Of course, producers won't want that, because they want people hooking up. If CBS was smart though, they'd have realized that this will make for more dramatic television. People who hate each other would then need to put personal vendettas aside to work in cahoots...

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Big Brother is upon us...

Big Brother will be back on the tube in a matter of hours! The producers promise yet another explosive season filled with crazy twists. Here’s an idea, can Julie Chen. After the 1st episode. That’ll get everyone in the house on edge…

This season has 16 houseguests, so more personalities will surely lead to greater television, right? Well, a quick look at the contestant profiles on the CBS website, and one might think otherwise…

The common theme amongst the combatants is that they are close with their mom, they love watching football, and most importantly, most everyone is single. I say most importantly because it’s obvious CBS casts these people strictly for that reason. There are two criteria. Are you single? If so, will you hook up with anyone? It’s terrible, that type of mentality when casting is awful. Just look at last season. Without Dick and Jen, the season would have been pathetic, which it was bordering on anyways. The players on the show should be put on there that have interesting personalities, have depth of character, and are willing to play the game to win…

Among the competitors this go round, you have a 28 year old Bikini Barista named Natalie. What in Johnny Fairplay’s good name is a Bikini Barista? But that’s not all, you see, Natalie is a “self described military kid” (you either are a military kid or you’re not), yet she is also very religious and carries her bible around everywhere. And I’d be remise if I didn’t mention this Bikini Barista has a certain affinity towards silicon. Thanks CBS, she must be a very thrilling individual. Guaranteed she will be horrible. Let’s hope she is horrible in a good way, and that she cheeses people off.

A friend told me a few days ago that these profiles on CBS look like they’ve been written by 5 year olds. That might be a bit generous. There’s Matt, a 23 year old Roofing Foreman who keeps his ex-girlfriends around for “booty calls”. Why do we need to know this? But wait, there’s depth to his character. He doesn’t engage in any lewd acts with his recent ex because she hooks up and flirts with other guys. How upsetting. I instantly feel compassion for this guy. This is ridiculous. Why is this clown even on the show?

Oh there are others, such as one dude who looks like he wants to be a rock star, another who is a paparazzo, and a goofy looking guy with red hair that is bicycling around the world. Additionally, there are women who juggle multiple partners at a time, not to mention a pair of women who have gone to a tanning bed about 123 too many times…

Come on CBS. We want more. We want interesting characters, funny people, strong personalities. Give us more people like Will from BB2 & All-Stars…

Here’s another twist. Put Will on every single season of Big Brother, and let him duke it out. It’ll be GOLD! Oh, and also fire Julie Chen…

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Sunday, February 10, 2008

Big Brother has such potential...

I love Big Brother, don't get me wrong. It has by far the best strategy of any reality show out there. So why then does the show seem like its run by a bunch of school kids?

Think about it. How lame are the Head of Household challenges each week? They are always True/False, A/B/C, Yes/No quizzes each and EVERY week. Its not like they couldn't do better. The live shows where they compact a week's worth of challenges into one episode have good competitions. So then why is something missing? It's freaking terrible, just plain awful. Big Brother is an incredible show, but its brutal how mismanaged it is...

The host is no better either. Julie Chen, though better then she was when the show first started, still makes the show feel awkward. On the contrary, though Jeff Probst on Survivor has said the same "Come on in guys!, Wanna know what you're playing for?" lines a million times, he delivers it with such poise you'd swear he said it for the first time. Chen relies solely on the prompter and cue cards, and never asks the good questions. Part of it is the shows fault. They set her up to fail by feeding her ridiculous questions from "fans" to ask the participants...

What is with the casting too? Let's be honest here. Other than Dick, the casting this past season was a major bust, a complete catastrophe. Great fun watching Whamber for 2 months. Jameka, she was awesome television. Zach, what a character! He had the whole game figured out. (cringes)...The cast of 16 this go round look to be no better. More on that in the next posting...

Big Brother is all about staging"twists" Why does there have to be a twist? What if the twist was there was no twist? Last seasons botched twist, the "rival" twist, was pathetic and short sighted. They had just 3 people with rivals, and the rest of the houseguests had no one to worry about. Why not have everyone with rivals. or none at all? How dumb is that? They did that for the "Ex Factor" too, with 5 of 8 with exes, and the other 3 had no one! Sheer stupidity.

BB is a gem of a show. It just has to be properly put together. CBS is sitting on GOLD with this show, but somehow it still feels like a let down. And this is coming from a HUGE BB fan. Imagine what the general public feels. If only this show were run by Mark Burnett. If only....

For Reality Blinded,

Michael Harrison

Saturday, February 9, 2008

Eliza a Brilliant Survivor?

Wow! This is incredible. It seems you like being wrong. You are going as far as giving Eliza even an ounce of credit? She is a joke. She's an absolute joke that should not be on this show.

"For better or worse she (Eliza) quickly established herself as the brains...."

Are you for real? Did someone slip something in your drink? Eliza latched on to the only people she could because she feared everyone would hate her like they did in Vanuatu. Eliza has no social skills, is overzealous in her game play, can't win anybody over to her side, and is clueless. No question, Eliza is gone next from the favourites side. Her only hope is to bring Cirie on board....

"My sleeper for this year is Cirie. Although she contributes next to nothing except confirming at least once at episode that she is in fact a couch potato"...

Now you are finally on to something. Cirie is a pathetic strategist. She will do nothing in this game and coast all the way to the end. No doubt about it. This is why Survivor is flawed. In the first all-star season, true gamers like Richard & Rob Cesternino left way too early, and terrible contestants like Shii Ann, Jenna Lewis & Amber made it all the way. This will happen again. Players like Cirie & Amanda will do nothing, but they'll find themselves in the running. That's ridiculous....

"Kathleen's inclusion on the show is an absolute joke, same for Chet's"...

Why not put people like this on the show? They'll be remembered. Do you recall Wanda from the season that two people left before the game even started? (Palau) Wanda sang "I'm a Survivor...we're on the ISLAND!!!!!" It's people like that that are phenomenal. Too many contestants make for dull television. Get these people on there to create some controversy, stir things up. By the way, I think a guy like Chet might make it very far. He'll be a force.

My money to win the whole show is on Alexis. She's intelligent, pretty, and has social skills. The guys won't want to vote her off, and the ladies will think of her as their best friend. Game, Set, Match. Alexis is the winner!

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Friday, February 8, 2008

Random Survivor Thoughts

So now that life without Johnny Fairplay has officially begun Mark Burnett and Jeff Probst begin to search through the rubble to try and save a show that has already lost its main antagonist. It won't be an easy task but there are a few candidates who can be expected to step up and fill the void. Here are a few random thoughts following Thursday's premiere.

For all the words that can be used to describe Eliza, flying under the radar would not be included among them. For better or worse she quickly established herself as the brains behind an alliance that includes some pretty colourful players such as Jonathan, Ami, Cirie, and Yau Man. Although I hated during her stint on Survivor I respect the way she's come out of the gate firing. There was already talk from the couples (Parvati, James, Ozzy, and Amanda) targeting Eliza as a potential evictee but if she's able to rally the troops and vote out the lovebirds there's a legit chance she is for real and be will be around for the duration.

My sleeper for this year is Cirie. Although she contributes next to nothing except confirming at least once at episode that she is in fact "a couch potato" (thanks, Cirie like we couldn't tell already) she is someone who gets a long extremely well with her competitors and unlike Eliza, she is flying very much under the radar and shouldn't be a threat for weeks to come. If she's not sitting in the final three I will be very shocked, albeit happy.

The couples alliance is an interesting dimension just days into the filming. I actually like the move for James. Why? Well he's such a physical threat and will always be throughout the show, he more than anyone needs a solid group he can rely upon. There will always be a target on his back and getting a small group of 4 together is a great way to try and get some long-term security. If he entered the "single" alliance where it's more every man for himself he would be in a lot more danger. Besides, when his group is initially targeted, one of the females will likely be voted off first as it is still too early to take the team's best player. That theory changes closer to the merge but the way James is setting up he might have some close friends by that time that will help him get deep into the game.

I don't like the move for the rest of the crew... I think Amanda and Parvati are playing their flirt cards a little too early and will feel the rath from the fellow female castaways. Ozzy was a loner in his first season on the show and probably should have tried to stay that way or at least become part of the group with numbers because I think he'll be making an early exit as well.

As for the favourites, it's really too early to give solid opinions because we saw so little time of them up on the first day. Unlike my colleague, I'm going on record to say Kathleen's inclusion on the show is an absolute joke, same for Chet's. Why CBS insists annually on including people who have absolutely no chance of winning blows my mind. Kathleen and Chet are both old odd-balls who clearly stick out among an otherwise youthful and normal tribe.They have no chance of fitting in with their tribe. Period. I understand people rooting for the underdog... that's why Yao Man remains such a popular character. But make no mistake about it.. these two are not underdogs, they're merely an afterthought when it comes to the overall group dynamics of their tribe and if they're not two of the first three people evicted from their side I'll be shocked.

Celebrity Apprentice-Nellie No More!

Thank goodness! She is finally gone. Nellie was one of the worst contestants in Apprentice history. It's a shame she didn't leave instead of Gene Simmons weeks back. If you're Nellie, do can possibly think you're good? She failed in every task she was given....

How did Lennox Lewis & his clown teammates win? It seems ridiculous, but often it's the ignorant that perform. They didn't have a chip on their shoulder. Trace Adkins, Lennox & Tito seemingly have done nothing all series, but they made it happen this week. Trace has been rock solid with his ideas the past two weeks...

Let's be honest though. Lennox has been awful on this show, I don't care if he won as Project Manager. He's done nothing until this week, and then he resorts to "raising your hand" to speak? Give me a break. He has no shot at winning...

Having George back on the show just made it right, as if everything was right in the world again. He's been missing, and having him there gave it credibility again. Donald Jr. has actually been relevant the past two weeks as well. I've always thought of him as a twit, but he's really asked great questions...

Piers is the entire show. Kudos to Trump for recognizing this and making him the focal point of everything. Piers won't win though. There's not even a competition going on. Carol Alt far exceeds everyone, hands down....

Sorry Omarosa, but you are luggage. Get over yourself. You were terrible the first go round, and are just the same player this time. Trump knows your game...

for Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Fairplay's last stand....

I know what a lot of you are thinking. How can Johnny Fairplay claim to be the greatest person ever to play Survivor and barely last an episode during his long-awaited return to the show? Surely if Fairplay's claim was true he would have what it takes, both physically and mentally, to survive longer than that.

But before you scratch Fairplay's name off as the most strategical Survivor player ever, consider the following. Fairplay's departure from last night's season premiere wasn't the low point of his Survivor career, it was the highlight and I'll tell you why.

I believe Fairplay when he says that he could not compete because his wife was seven-months pregnant and needed him at home. Reality shows take a backseat to real life and Fairplay is about to start a family, maybe not the best time to reclaim his spot as American's top villain. But the fact is, he knew all of this was going to be case before he agreed to show. So why waste everyone's time by showing up and then quitting at the first possible chance?

It's a well-known fact that CBS in the past had paid former castaways appearance fees in order to return and compete a second time around. This was a major stumbling block during the casting for Survivor All-Stars because it seems all the top characters wanted a guaranteed financial incentive in order to put their bodies through another grueling journey.

Well I wouldn't be surprised if Fairplay was a recipient of such an incentive. CBS likely approached Fairplay early on in the casting phase because let's face it, since the last edition of all-stars there have been very few "All-Star" type players and even fewer "All-Star villains." Fairplay was in a position of power, CBS needed him more than he needed them.

So, he agreed and then took the money and ran. Can you really blame him after getting snubbed by CBS during the casting of the first all-stars? Talk about your perfect revenge by the man who does it best.

Thursday, February 7, 2008

Survivor: Episode 1-Life without Fairplay

Wow. What an opening episode. That will be the best episode of the series. Johnny Fairplay delivered in a big way. He was incredible, particularly when he told the Fans they were dumber then they looked. He went out with a bang, but unfortunately, the season could possibly go up in flames...

Does anyone care what Eliza, Amy, Cirie & Company will get up to now? Of course not. Fairplay drove the show, right from the get go. Whether you loved or hated him, he made things happen...

Sure there's Kathleen aka the Crazy Lady, but really, is there a whole lot else? Crazy Lady has to survive for a while, doesn't she? Who else would be so open about someone's sexuality or their implants? Gold. Kathleen is Gold!

If Erik is a fan of the show, it would appear he hasn't watched the past 15 seasons. Why throw sand on the other team in a challenge? Do you think they'll want to make alliances come merger time with you? Completely dumb on his part...

The romances between Ozzy/Amanda and Parvati/James are already old. We'll be subjected to that garbage in the coming weeks. Riveting. I can't wait....

Phenomenal first episode, and it'll be next to impossible to get any better than that. I wonder if Fairplay didn't want to do All-Star, but told producers he'd go on for one episode, do his trademark antics, then exit gracefully. Either way, the show lost its true "Star" in Fairplay.

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Biggest Blunder in Survivor History?

"A record number of blind sides." That's what Mr. Probst has promised us this season of Survivor, to go along with the pair of romances. But how about the most intriguing teaser offered up by Probst, which has the makings of a Hall of Shame moment...

"Expect the biggest blunder the show has ever seen! Even more than James' double Immunity Idol gaffe in Survivor: China" This could be phenomenal. Absolutely incredible...

No Survivor in the history of the show has ever agreed to give up the immunity necklace they've received. It's become a moot point, and essentially meaningless for Jeff to ask at EVERY Tribal Council. Wouldn't it be gold if someone were so secure in their place in the game and wanted to protect someone that they gave up their idol, only to subsequently be voted off? Now that would get people talking! What could it possibly be?

the official Survivor website can be found at http://www.cbs.com/primetime/survivor16/

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Blinded Reality, featuring Survivor: Micronesia

Welcome to Blinded Reality, where we discuss everything Reality TV! We will delve deeper into the best reality shows, offering our insight and opinions. On the docket, Survivor: Micronesia, Fans vs. Favourites. First up, the favourites...

This All-Star season could have as bad a finish as the first All-Star, where Amber Brkich won. Brkich, along with Jenna L. shouldn't have been termed "all stars", and clearly were not worthy of their spot a second time. Yet they finished 1st, and 3rd respectively. The potential for a bust like that is strong this time around...

The men, for the most part, were great selections. Johnny Fairplay is a must, and will surely be gold. James, Yau-Man, Jonathan and Ozzy round out a solid male cast. However, the female "All Star" selections are at best despicable...

Not one of the females is an "All Star". Why does Survivor have to even out the all star cast with 5 women and 5 men? Several past male contestants would have been worthy competitors, such as Shane and Terry (both in Survivor: Panama), Dreamz (Fiji), and Judd (Guatemala)

Yet from one of the best Survivors ever (Terry's) season, they select Cirie? In the final 4 fire making challenge at Tribal Council, Cirie couldn't make fire, at all, putting the entire jury to sleep in the process. Then how about the worst season of all, Survivor: Vanuatu. I know, let's bring back Amy and Eliza! Guaranteed nearly everyone watching the show will think she's a fan, not a favourite. And Eliza is not much better either. She annoyed everyone on the show, and was completely unwatchable. Parvati and Amanda were put on as eye candy, but they both are a snooze fest...

Why wouldn't the show cast true all-stars, like Twila (Vanuatu), Lisi (Fiji), Angie (Palau), or heck even bring back the helpless Scout (Vanuatu), as comic relief!

If not, then why not put 8 male all-stars, along with 2 female all-stars, then level the playing field by having 8 female fans and 2 male? If Fairplay and Yau Man exit early, this season will be a major bust.

*spoiler alert, kind of* Jeff Probst says there will be two "romances", on the show. Fairplay has to be involved somehow. It's the Fairplay thing to do. If he's shown the door early, the excitement, curiosity and pizzazz will die instantly...

We'd love to hear from you! Send us your thoughts, do you agree? Disagree?

For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison