Sunday, February 10, 2008

Big Brother has such potential...

I love Big Brother, don't get me wrong. It has by far the best strategy of any reality show out there. So why then does the show seem like its run by a bunch of school kids?

Think about it. How lame are the Head of Household challenges each week? They are always True/False, A/B/C, Yes/No quizzes each and EVERY week. Its not like they couldn't do better. The live shows where they compact a week's worth of challenges into one episode have good competitions. So then why is something missing? It's freaking terrible, just plain awful. Big Brother is an incredible show, but its brutal how mismanaged it is...

The host is no better either. Julie Chen, though better then she was when the show first started, still makes the show feel awkward. On the contrary, though Jeff Probst on Survivor has said the same "Come on in guys!, Wanna know what you're playing for?" lines a million times, he delivers it with such poise you'd swear he said it for the first time. Chen relies solely on the prompter and cue cards, and never asks the good questions. Part of it is the shows fault. They set her up to fail by feeding her ridiculous questions from "fans" to ask the participants...

What is with the casting too? Let's be honest here. Other than Dick, the casting this past season was a major bust, a complete catastrophe. Great fun watching Whamber for 2 months. Jameka, she was awesome television. Zach, what a character! He had the whole game figured out. (cringes)...The cast of 16 this go round look to be no better. More on that in the next posting...

Big Brother is all about staging"twists" Why does there have to be a twist? What if the twist was there was no twist? Last seasons botched twist, the "rival" twist, was pathetic and short sighted. They had just 3 people with rivals, and the rest of the houseguests had no one to worry about. Why not have everyone with rivals. or none at all? How dumb is that? They did that for the "Ex Factor" too, with 5 of 8 with exes, and the other 3 had no one! Sheer stupidity.

BB is a gem of a show. It just has to be properly put together. CBS is sitting on GOLD with this show, but somehow it still feels like a let down. And this is coming from a HUGE BB fan. Imagine what the general public feels. If only this show were run by Mark Burnett. If only....

For Reality Blinded,

Michael Harrison

1 comment:

Lauren said...

I hate Julie Chen. She is just so...cold. I think she's a robot. But at least a robot could be programmed to be a better host. Maybe someone needs to re-program robo-Julie Chen to have a personality.

I agree with you though...out of everyone who must apply to be on the show, SURELY there must be some better contestants out there! Maybe if they opened the show up to Canadians, there would be some better people to choose from (oh me, pick me!) :D