Tuesday, February 19, 2008

Why Big Brother has been so good...

Simply put, this past episode of Big Brother was one of the greatest episodes in the shows history. Yes, you could look at all the cattiness going on (Allison/Jen, Adam/Sheila) and think that was why it was phenomenal, but that’d be missing the mark. Big Brother is best when it doesn’t resort to cheesy and gimmicky challenges that force the contestants to virtually get naked and clown around. It’s even better when the show does not rely on having to show romantic overtures and innuendo for the entire 60 minutes. Think about it, there was nothing in the show that is so incredibly stupid and ridiculous that got your eyes rolling…

A lot of the drama centered on the real “couple” Jen & Ryan. Figuring that Ryan’s partner Allison was about to spill the beans on their secret, they let the cat out of the bag and quickly everyone knew. People got upset that they weren’t told earlier. This is beyond comprehension. Nearly everyone was pissy because their “friends” didn’t reveal their sordid conspiracy. They were scarred to learn that the donkeys they’d met just TWO days earlier had not told them the twist. What were they expecting? Would anyone else have not done the same thing? In fact, most all of them would have kept the secret longer.

Have these goons not watched the show before? Joshuah was the biggest twerp. Twice he muttered that he wouldn’t have thought of there being another real life couple in the house. WAKE UP! Every season the show has some twisted twist to it. How could you not have even suspected people knew one another in a million years? Then, when Sheila & Allison their phony “lesbian relationship” to Joshuah, he was so startled that, you guessed it, he wouldn’t have thought about it “in a million years.” Get your head in the game bud. And by the way, running to your partner Neil with this information surely will show you can’t be trusted at all…

The other extremely entertaining aspect of the show Sunday was everyone swearing on the bible. I still can’t believe we all witnessed that. It’s still puzzling why that would get to the truth anyhow. It’s questionable when people who aren’t religious feel the need to use the bible to prove they are serious. Here’s a thought; when the bible is being passed around, refuse to swear on it. That would really freak out the house. They wouldn’t know who to believe, and there would be constant skepticism. It has to be balanced carefully however, so as not to cast too much light on oneself.

Finally, the show really needs to consider switching up the partners at least 3 times this season. Think about the monstrosity that would create. People you confided all your thoughts in now being your nemesis. Players you were gunning for are force to be your closest ally. And, on a more shallow level (and one the show would surely think of), there would be more opportunities for romance to bloom. The house would be flipped upside down…

It’s come crystal clear now. The reason the show was so fantastic was because Julie Chen did not grace our TV sets once…
For Blinded Reality,

Michael Harrison

No comments: